BRIDGING THE GAP WITH – MILES REYNOLDS

Ballers Bridge catches up with Mac Irvin Fire and Whitney Young High School Point Guard, Miles Reynolds.

Miles Reynolds has been on college coaches’ radars since his big performance on the Nike EYBL circuit last summer. Though blessed with remarkable physical traits, Reynolds’s best assest may just be his basketball IQ. It is no surprise that schools such as LSU, Stanford, Arizona, Iowa and a host of others covet this Chicago prospect.

How has the AAU season gone so far?milesreynolds
The first two weekends went well. We came out with a bull’s eye on our back, responded well, and won the championship in Milwaukee. That tournament was a great warm up for the first EYBL session down in LA.

Who is currently recruiting you?
Arizona, Stanford, LSU, Dayton, Ohio State, Harvard, and The U (Miami).

How big of a role are academics going to play in your recruitment?
Academics are going to be one of the main aspects in the decision. Also, the relationships between the players and the coaches will be key.

What type of player are you?
I like to get everyone involved, and then when things open up, I take what’s mine. Playing with guys like Jahlil makes it easy to be honest.

What aspect of your game do you want to work on the most this summer?
Coach Mike and Coach Nate are working with me on my aggressiveness. Every time I step on the court, I want to just dominate the opponent.

Goals for this summer?
To get as many offers as I can and to play as hard as I can. Whatever it takes to get us to the top spot of the EYBL.

Any idea what you want to study when you get to college?
Definitely business, economics.

What makes the Chicago basketball scene special?
The main thing about Chicago is that it is hard to make it out. For a lot of people here, basketball may not be the only thing, but its one of the only things that is going to help them reach new opportunities.

When do you want to make a decision?
In the fall, September or October.

Any favorites for you at this point?
No favorites, but I know that I will be taking official visits to LSU and Stanford for sure.

What is standing out about LSU?
They have come out to watch me play so much in person. I would say 8-10 games. With their schedule, that’s tough to do. They have come to watch me play or they come to practice, just to show face. They want to show that they are active with me, and I like that. I am looking forward to checking out Baton Rouge.

And Stanford?
I was at Stanford in October. They have come out to watch me in person a ton, and they like me. They tell me that they want me there. My visit back in October went well; I have a great relationship with the assistants and Coach Dawkins as well. Obviously, it is an academic school, and my mom went there. That may play a factor, but I don’t know yet.

Leave a comment